An independently run Evening Class of the Surbiton, Kingston & Malden branch of the Workers Education Association
MENU

AUTUMN PROGRAMME 2018

Our programmes are arranged by our class tutor / organiser Dick Crane. He would love to have feed back on what members think about the various subjects and speakers. Please email him on this link dicklcrane@aol.com

Wednesday 19th September
'GOLDEN MEMORIES' DICK CRANE gets a new term underway with a look back to the railway scene in 1968 followed by a review of the new programme
Wednesday 26th September
'SOMERSET'S RAILWAYS REVISITED' DICK CRANE reviews the railways past and present in the County of Somerset
Wednesday 3rd October
'MIDLAND RAILWAY 150' DICK CRANE reviews the London Extension of the Midland Railway to St Pancras which opened on 1st October 1868
Wednesday 10th October
'PLATEWAY TO RAILWAY TO TRAMWAY' A welcome to RAY PUDDY with an illustrated talk on the history of the Surrey Ironstone Railway which is now within part of the Croydon Tramlink system
Wednesday 17th October
'BLACK AND WHITE - SCOTTISH STEAM IN THE 50s and 60s' A big welcome to railway photographer DAVID KELSO

Wednesday 24th October
NO MEETING
Wednesday 31st October
'ALL SAINTS WAYS' DICK CRANE presents a round-up of railway stations, trains and locomotives with 'saintly'names
Wednesday 7th November
'WELSH RAIL REVIVAL' An illustrated talk by TOM JOYNER, former Managing Director, Arriva Trains Wales
Wednesday 14th November
'BORDER RAIDERS' DENNIS LOVETT returns to 'T o T' with a talk on the North British lines which crossed into England
Wednesday 21st November
'ON THE ROUTE OF THE MERSEYSIDE EXPRESS' DICK CRANE takes a pictorial journey over the years from Euston to Liverpool
Wednesday 28th November
'SOUTH WALES - MAIN LINE' Following up his enjoyable presentation on branch lines in South Wales, CHRIS JONES now looks at the history of the main line route to Swansea
Wednesday 5th December 7.15 for 7.30pm
'CHRISTMAS SPECIAL' with our good friend MIKE BUNN as our guest speaker + good food and GREAT company!

PLEASE NOTE: For convenience this programme is published well in advance and may therefore be subject to alteration. Such alterations will be notified on this website.

Amended 24.10.18