An independently run Evening Class of the Surbiton, Kingston & Malden branch of the Workers Education Association
MENU

AUTUMN PROGRAMME 2019

Our programmes are arranged by our class tutor / organiser Dick Crane. He would love to have feed back on what members think about the various subjects and speakers. Please email him on this link dicklcrane@aol.com

Wednesday 18th September
'THE YEAR AFTER STEAM' DICK CRANE gets a new term underway with a look back 50 years to the railway scene in 1969, followed by a review of the forthcoming programme
Wednesday 25th September
'THE RAILWAYS OF IRAN' A welcome return for TIM MORTON with a presentation on the railways in this rarely visited country
Wednesday 2nd October
'DERBYSHIRE'S RAILWAYS REVISITED' DICK CRANE reflects on the railway scene past and present in the county of Derbyshire
Wednesday 9th October
'RAILWAY PRESERVATION IN FRANCE' Our good friend MIKE BUNN returns with a look at the preservation scene in France
Wednesday 16th October
'FROM NINE ELMS TO GREAT COCKROW' JIM LESTER reviews his career at Nine Elms and more recent involvement with the Great Cockrow
Railway

Wednesday 23rd October
'COMMUNITY RAIL' DICK CRANE looks at a selection of the Community Rail Partnerships which have brought new life to many of Britain's rural railways
Wednesday 30th October
NO MEETING
Wednesday 6th November
'STRICTLY FREIGHT ONLY - Part 1' BRIAN RINGER A Former senior Rail Freight manager looks at the development of rail freight in the UK
Wednesday 13th November
'RAIL DAYS AT GLOUCESTER AND WORCESTER' DICK CRANE reviews the railway scene past and present at these once busy rail centres
Wednesday 20th November
'RAILBUS FAREWELL' As we prepare to bid farewell to the Pacers DICK CRANE looks back over the troubled history of diesel railbuses on Britain's railways
Wednesday 27th November
'LONDON TO CARLISLE IN THE 50s and 60s' DAVID CROSS returns more of his late father's excellent pictures

Wednesday 4th December 7.15 for 7.30pm
'CHRISTMAS SPECIAL' Good food - great company and our special
Guest Speaker - CHRIS GREEN

PLEASE NOTE: For convenience this programme is published well in advance and may therefore be subject to alteration. Such alterations will be notified on this website.

27.03.19