AUTUMN PROGRAMME 2021

Our programmes are arranged by our class tutor / organiser Dick Crane. He would love to have feed back on what members think about the various subjects and speakers. Please email him on this link dicklcrane@aol.com.

Wednesday 15th September

‘BLUE IS THE COLOUR !’ DICK CRANE gets a new term underway with a look at the railway scene 50 years ago in 1971. There will also be a review of the new programme for the term.


Wednesday 22nd September

'THE WITHERED ARM' A first visit to ‘T o T’ for MICHAEL CLEMENS who edits and produces the popular range of ‘B & R Video Productions’.


Wednesday 29th September

'CAMBRIDGESHIRE’S RAILWAYS REVISITED’ DICK CRANE reviews the much changed railways in the County of Cambridgeshire


Wednesday 6th October

‘TRAVELS OVERSEAS WITH THE LCGB’ A welcome return to T o T for COLIN MIELL featuring LCGB tours to Ethionia and Northern Mexico, including the superb Copper Canyon Railway from Chihuaua from Chihuaua down to the Pacific coast


Wednesday 13th October

‘CROSSING THE BORDER’ a welcome back to DENNIS LOVETT with another of his excellent presentations on railways around the Scottish border


Wednesday 20th October

‘STREETS OF LONDON’ DICK CRANE and PETER LEPPERT present a selection of stations with ‘STREET’ in their titles, London and elsewhere


Wednesday 27th October

'BRUNEL'S TIMBER BRIDGES AND VIADUCTS' BRIAN LEWIS presents an illustrated talk based on his book on this fascinating part of our railway history


Wednesday 3rd November

ON THE ROUTE OF THE ROBIN HOOD' DICK CRANE takes a pictorial journey from St Pancras to Nottingham along the route of this former titled train


Wednesday 10th November

CATHEDRAL’S OF STEAM’


Wednesday 17th November

MAIN LINE TO CORNWALL DAVID AGER reviews the story of the main railway route into Cornwall


Wednesday 24th November

‘CORNWALL’S BRANCHES REVISITED’ DICK CRANE revisits the surviving branch railways in Cornwall including both national rail and heritage lines

There will be a brief AGM for 2021 during this evening


Wednesday 1st December 7.15 for 7.30pm

Not our usual food feast at our CHRISTMAS SPECIAL but a feast of pictures and commentary with our Guest Speaker – MIKE BUNN

PLEASE NOTE: For convenience this programme is published well in advance and may therefore be subject to alteration. Such alterations will be notified on this website.