An independently run Evening Class of the Surbiton, Kingston & Malden branch of the Workers Education Association
MENU

SPRING PROGRAMME 2020

Our programmes are arranged by our class tutor / organiser Dick Crane. He would love to have feed back on what members think about the various subjects and speakers. Please email him on this link dicklcrane@aol.com

Wednesday 15th January
‘WELCOME TO 2020’ DICK CRANE gets a New Year underway with a look into the crystal ball to review likely developments on Britain’s railways in 2020
Wednesday 22nd January
'THE CROSSRAIL STORY' CHRISTIAN WOLMAR returns to 'T o T' with an illustrated talk based on his new book on Crossrail
Wednesday 29th January
‘ON THE ROUTE OF THE FENMAN’ DICK CRANE takes us on a pictorial journey from London Liverpool Street to Kings Lynn
Wednesday 5th February
‘RESTORING HERITAGE CARRIAGES’ RICHARD SALMON visits ‘T o T’ with an illustrated talk on the restoration of heritage carriages and wagons

Wednesday 12th February
‘SOMETHING OLD, SOMETHING NEW, SOMETHING BORROWED and SOMETHING BLUE’
DICK CRANE presents a mixture of railway contrasts and memories
Wednesday 19th February
NO MEETING
Wednesday 26th February
‘ADRIAN’S RAILWAY 1947-1975’ Popular Railway Author ADRIAN VAUGHAN presents the fascinating story of his railway interests and career

Wednesday 4th March -
‘THE CHARM OF SUFFOLK’ DAVID AGER returns to ‘T o T’ with a a presentation of some of Suffolk’s ‘quirky’ railways including the Southwold Railway and the Mid Suffolk Light Railway
Wednesday 11th March
‘RAIL DAYS IN WHITBY AND SCARBOROUGH’ DICK CRANE reviews the past and present railways in these neighbouring centres
Wednesday 18th March
‘THE BULLIED STORY’ COLIN BOCOCK reflects on the life and achievements of the famous locomotive engineer
Wednesday 25th March
‘LNER PRESERVED’ DICK CRANE brings another term to a close with a review of former LNER locomotives that have passed into preservation
There will be a short Annual General Meeting during the evening.

PLEASE NOTE: For convenience this programme is published well in advance and may therefore be subject to alteration. Such alterations will be notified on this website.

29.04.19